Paper dolls and other paper toys

Rose and June: The most likely candidates for my oldest PDs (4)

Posted on: March 21, 2013

These dolls have the names Rose and June hand-written on the back. I think they are probably from the 1940s or 1950s.

Rose and June (1)

Rose and June (2)

Rose and June (3)

PS: Sally’s comment showed they are Marge and Lee, from 1952.

2 Responses to "Rose and June: The most likely candidates for my oldest PDs (4)"

https://picasaweb.google.com/113630803541426992026/MidgeNMarge1952?noredirect=1#

The identification for your dolls can be found in
Bobe’s Picasa albums at the link above.

Kind regards Sally

Thank you, Sally! When I got these, I looked at them and thought, at first, they were nameless. So I thought: “I will call this one Margie. What other name can I think of that was common at the time?”

But when I turned it around, the doll allready had a hand-written name. What is interesting is that I seemed to think like the original namegiver of the set, as she is Marge.

Leave a Reply

