Paper dolls and other paper toys

Something Dotty

Posted on: October 29, 2011

This is Dot Polka, a comic character from way back. She collected and loved everything with dots on it. I drew her some time ago, and recently put it all together on spotted backgrounds.

My opinion of Dot: If you have a family history of obsessive compulsive behavior (evidenced by her strange aunts and uncles), and if your surname is Polka, it is very unwise to name your daughter Dot.

8 Responses to "Something Dotty"

Thanks so much for giving me the details of the paper dolls I wasn’t sure about Retha. I had a look at the link you included – it was great to see the cover of the book (it would have been nice to see some of the pages and outfits) I’m also glad you left a comment as it let me find your blog which I have really enjoyed looking at as well.

Just discovered Little Dot. I remember her comic books from a very lo-o-o-ng time ago (‘sixties). Now we need a Little Lotta (remember her?). And maybe Sniffles (Can’t remember the girl’s name, but I remember her chant: “Magic words of poof-poof-piffles, Make me just as small as Sniffles” — and, voila, she was mouse-sized so she could play with her friend. Sigh. The good ol’ days).

I remember Little Lotta. I don’t know Sniffles. I read Dot and Lotta and Audrey and Richie Rich in the 80’s. Perhaps the Sniffles comic was not published then any more?

Hey! Valley Home Renewal, Kat here. I got your message and I cant find your email, but here is mine: valleyhomerenewal at gmail.com
Thank you so much, I really appreciate it! That was very thoughtful of you!🙂

I just discovered your wonderful site. What a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon. I loved Little Dot. Did you make the clothing? Terrific.
I loved Lotta, Audry, Caspar, Wendy the good lil’ witch, and best of all, Sugar and Spike. Comic cut-outs were the best. I was 10 in 1958 when these comics were at their peak of popularity. Thank You so much❤

Yes, this doll and clothing is my work.

I LOVE IT! SO ORIGINAL ALTHOUGH RESEMBLES COMIC ‘LITTLE AUDREY’ [i collected all of her comics in my youth]. THANK YOU FOR SHARING, AND I LISTED IT IN MY ‘ABSOLUTE FAVORITES’ LIST!

She and little Audrey was probably drawn by the same artist, it was both Harvey comics.

Leave a Reply

