Paper dolls and other paper toys

For the non-artistic: Lazy Designer’s Doll

Posted on: January 24, 2009

Have you ever wanted to draw your own paperdoll (PD) , but did not feel up to the task?

Here, you can trace “your own” PD, choose the face you want, and the arms configuration you want. And after that, you can make clothes for her.

ldd1

(I find today’s standard printer paper is too thick to properly see the image below, when you want to trace. Ho do I solve this? Easy. In daylight, I prestik the page with the image on the inside of my window, and then the drawing page over it. The back lighting from the sun makes the tracing picture visible. Even better is to place your picture on a glass table with a bed lamp under the table.)

I assume that everybody who played with PD’s as a child already know how to make doll clothing, but here, quickly, is simple instructions for someone who do not: Place the doll, allready glued to cardboard and cut out, on paper. Hold doll, and trace her outlines with a pencil. Draw outfit to size on these outlines. Erase outline before coloring clothing. Add tabs to the drawing before cutting out.

Enjoy!

Tags: ,

3 Responses to "For the non-artistic: Lazy Designer’s Doll"

Thanks for sharing this! I love the different expressions and hairdos….interesting to note that even though it’s copyrighted 1973, the hair styles still are relevant to here and now. I’ll have to try this out with my girls.

I love this, how creative.

That’s pretty cool. Never seen something like that before. I might make one myself…. =]

Monica

Leave a Reply

